Green Bean Fries

I have been searching for an alternative to French fries for, well, most of my life.  Sweet potato fries are a healthier alternative, but sweet potatoes still carry quite a bit of carbohydrates.  Sweet potato fries are a bit labor intensive and time consuming to prepare (at least without using a fryer), too.  I have discovered an alternative that still satisfies my craving for French fries.

Green bean fries are the best! 

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees (Fahrenheit)
2. Line a cookie sheet with aluminum foil.
3. Take as many fresh green beans as you want, or as many as will fit in a single layer on the cookie sheet, and rinse. 
4. Pat these dry with a towel, and then remove the stem ends of the green beans.
5. Place green beans in a bowl or a large ziplock bag.
6. Add oil of your choice (I use extra virgin olive oil) to very lightly coat the green beans.  This is approximately 2 tbsp of oil for an entire gallon bag of green beans, with oil remaining in the bag after green beans have been removed.
7. Add seasoning of your choice.  1 teaspoon of sea salt, 1 teaspoon of garlic powder, and 1 teaspoon of black pepper is my favorite mixture.
8. Toss the green beans, or shake the bag, to coat thoroughly.
9. Place in a single layer on the cookie sheet.
10. Bake for 8-10 minutes.  Flip the green beans.  Bake for another 8-10 minutes until desired level of crispiness.

I prefer mine to be a bit like a soggy McDonald’s fry, and so I only cook for 8 minutes each time.  Cayenne and chili powder could also be added to make green bean fries with a kick.

Leave a comment